Supervisor of the Year Award

Attention all doctoral students: the PhD Chapter is proud to launch the inaugural Supervisor of the Year Award!

Since 1985, THS has given out the “Teacher of the year” award at KTH to promote pedagogical development and spread good practice. The “Teacher of the year” award celebrates the best teachers at KTH, but has a clear focus on first and second cycle education.

To promote good examples within third cycle education, the PhD Chapter has curated the “Supervisor of the Year” award, to be awarded to a doctoral student supervisor. Similar awards have been given at various universities in Sweden, for example at Chalmers University and Luleå University. The academic year 20/21 is the inaugural year for this award.

A doctoral student supervisor can be nominated for the “Supervisor of the Year” award by the said supervisor’s current student(s) or alumni or a group of current student(s) and alumni. The alumni participation is restricted to nominate their previous supervisor up to a year after they defended their thesis/ended their doctoral studies.

If you have any questions, please get back to us at

Nomination Form

Important Dates:

05th Nov. 2020 Announcement of the Award 

26th Nov. 2020
16.15 – 17.00

FAQ session for potential nominators
Registration Link

04th Dec. 2020 A.O.E time Last Date of Nomination

31st Jan 2021 31st March 2021 

Announcement of the Award (delayed)

The Jury of this Award

Mohit Daga, EECS, Chairperson of the Jury
Saiman Ding, CBH
Siegfried Evens, ABE
Anna-Karin Högfeldt, ITM
Wiebke Köpp, EECS
Inês De Miranda De Matos Lourenço, EECS
Farhiya Sellman, CBH
Kian Shaker, SCI