Category Archives: News

PhD Pub Special – Bring your supervisor (or professor) to the pub

The PhD Pub opens its door on Friday 19th of October as per tradition at 17:17. The address is unchanged – Drottning Kristinas väg 29

Attention dear guests!!! We host a special Pub this time. Our goal:
– breaking the ice between students and teachers
– raising the alcohol level in your professors’ bloodstream
– showing where you spend your Friday evenings and come up with all your crazy ideas for your projects

The PhD Pub encourages you to treat your mentor for a drink!
Our supervisors are already excited O_o

Our kitchen is open this Friday: burgers will be available for purchase.

Entrance: you should have an active THS membership of the PhD Chapter or Flygsektionen. Every member has the right to bring 1 Dr. guest.

Check the event on Facebook 

Don’t forget to invite your supervisor!

Working groups for school merging

Following the KTH president decision to plan to merge ten KTH schools possibly into five, two working groups (WGs) have been formed to investigate how to merge CSC, EES and ICT schools, and BIO, CHE and STH schools together.

The PhD Chapter, together with the PhD Student Councils of the involved schools, has nominated 3 PhD student representatives for each WG:

Workgroup for BIO-CHE-STH merging

BIO school PhD student representative: Tom Reichenbach

CHE school PhD student representative: Ramiar Sadegh-Vaziri

STH school PhD student representative: Victor Strömbäck-Alvarez

Workgroup for CSC-EES-ICT merging

CSC school PhD student representative: Anastasiia Varava

EES school PhD student representative: Dan Pettersson

ICT school PhD student representative: Mohamed Tagelsir Mohamed Elhussein

Review of the KTH school organization

Andrea de Giorgio (PhD Chapter Chairperson) between Sigbritt Karlsson (KTH President) and Mikael Östling (KTH Deputy President)

The PhD Chapter at KTH is working full time to bring the PhD student perspective on important decisions at the university. The new KTH president Sigbritt Karlsson has announced this week her decision to plan to merge ten KTH schools possibly into five. Other changes are coming, such as reducing the scholarship PhD students and getting more fully employed PhD students (one of Mikael Östling’s goals), or redefining the roles for GA (undergraduate studies coordinator), FA (research and postgraduate studies coordinator) and PA (doctoral program coordinator).

If you want to get involved as PhD representative, write to board [at] and let us know what difference you can make!

This entry was posted in News.

Elections at SFS PhD Students Committee

The nominations for the PhD Students Committee at the Swedish National Union of Students (SFS) are open!

The Swedish National Union of Students main task is to represent and promote the members’ interests in education, research and student welfare issues at the national level. SFS is organized according to democratic principles. SFS general assembly is the highest decision-making body where all the member unions are represented. The SFS PhD Students Committee is dedicated to PhD education issues and research policy.

If you want to get involved and make your voice count – go ahead and apply!

The deadline is extended to March 11th.

More detailed information about it is provided here for members and for chairperson positions.

Update on equality at KTH

Equality at KTH is now in transition with a new vice president (vicerektor) for equality. In spring 2017, work will be focused on developing a plan for equality integration at KTH. Problem areas and priority objectives and measures will be formulated by the new vice president for equality and a small working group that will be created in autumn 2017.